Don't Let a DUI Ruin Your Life

Don't Let a DUI Ruin Your Life

Rely on an experienced DUI lawyer in Bakersfield & Lamont, CA

Have you been charged with a DUI? The consequences can be severe, and even a first time offense can have lasting impacts on your future. You don't have to fight these charges alone. Contact the Underwood Law Firm to speak with a dedicated DUI lawyer serving Bakersfield & Lamont, CA.

We'll look over all the details and prepare a thorough and meticulous DUI defense. Call 661-368-1973 today to schedule a consultation with a DUI lawyer in Bakersfield & Lamont, CA.

Understand the DUI process in the state of California

At Underwood Law Firm, we've handled countless DUI defense cases. We'll walk you through the process to give you added peace of mind. There are three main parts to every DUI case:

The arrest

an officer will ask you to perform a sobriety test and blow twice into a Breathalyzer. You're required by law to take an additional chemical test as well. Upon release, you should be given two documents: a citation and a pink temporary license.

The DMV process

contact the DMV within 10 days of your arrest to demand a hearing. We can request the hearing for you and attend the hearing on your behalf. This is an important step where we can gather evidence for your defense. This hearing will determine if you get to keep your license or not.

Court proceedings

unless you need to testify, we are able to attend all the court proceedings on your behalf. It's possible to reach a plea settlement or to move forward with a jury trial.

DUI Defense in Bakersfield, CA

Your DUI lawyer will handle nearly every step of your defense and grant you peace of mind in this worrying and stressful time. Contact us today to take the first step towards your DUI defense in Bakersfield, CA.

Penalties for California DUI


Type of California DUI


Jail/Prison Sentence


Fine


Mandatory IID period


DUI School


1st offense misdemeanor DUI


Up to 6 months in county jail


$390-1000


6 months (the IID is usually not mandatory for a first-time DUI, but with no IID the DMV would suspend the person's license would be suspended for 4 months; after 30 days, the defendant could get a restricted license allowing him/her to drive to and from work for 5 months)


3 or 9 months


2nd offense misdemeanor DUI


96 hours to 1 year in county jail


$390-1000


1 year (if the defendant chooses not to get an IID, the license suspension period is 2 years; after 1 year, the defendant can get a restricted license allowing him/her to drive to and from work for 1 year)


SB 38 18 or 30 months


3rd offense misdemeanor DUI


120 days to 1 year in county jail


$390-1000


2 years (if the defendant chooses not to get an IID, the license suspension period will be 3 years)


30 months


DUI with injury (misdemeanor)


5 days to 1 year in county jail


$390-5000, plus restitution to injured parties


6 months (if the defendant chooses not to get an IID, the license suspension period will be 1 year)


3, 18 or 30 months


1st offense DUI with injury (felony)


16 months to 16 years in state prison


$1015-5000, plus restitution to injured parties


1 year


18 or 30 months


Felony DUI


16 months, 2 years or 3 years in state prison


$390-1000


up to 5 years of driver's license suspension


18 or 30 months